Plenary Speakers

Dr. Eva Birnbaum

"The DOE Isotope Program at Los Alamos National Laboratory"

Program Manager, Isotope Production and Distribution Program
Science Program Office
Los Alamos National Laboratory


Arne Freyberger


"Commissioning and operating 12 GeV CEBAF"

Director of Accelerator Operations
Jefferson Lab


Dr. Tsahi Gonzani

"Status of Technology and role of Accelerators in Nonintrusive Active Interrogation for Various Threats Including Nuclear Materials"

Consultant to Government & Industry


Dr. Daryl Howard

“Finding Edgar Degas’ Lost Portrait with a Synchrotron”

Scientist, Australian Synchrotron


Dr. Robert Kolasinski

“Low Energy Ion Scattering and Direct Recoil Spectrometry: Recent Advances and Future Applications”

Sandia National Laboratories
Energy Innovation Department
Chemistry, Combustion, and Material Center


Dr. Anita Mahajan

"Particle Beam Therapy: Evolving Technological Developments and Expanding Clinical Indications"

Department of Radiation Oncology
UT MD Anderson Cancer Center


Dr. Mark Palmer

"Moving Accelerator Technology Beyond the National Laboratories: The DOE Accelerator Stewardship Program"

Accelerator Test Facility Director
Collider-Accelerator Department
Brookhaven National Laboratory 

Dr. Joel Rynes

"Advancing Technological Capabilities to Prevent Nuclear Terrorism"

Director of Research and Development
Department of Homeland Security


Dr. Reinhard Schulte

"Particle Beam Therapy: Evolving Technological Developments and Expanding Clinical Indications"

Division Radiation Research
Department of Basic Science
School of Medicine
Loma Linda University

Visiting Professor
Particle Therapy Research Program
Department of Radiation Oncology
UCSF Helen Diller Family Comprehensive Cancer Center


Prof. Brian Wirth

“Computational Modeling and Materials Research Needs for Plasma Facing Components and Materials for Fusion Reactors beyond ITER”

Governor’s Chair Professor, Nuclear Engineering Department
University of Tennessee


Dr. Yuan Zhang

“Status of the Chinese Circular Electron-Positron Collider and Super Proton-Proton Collider CEPC/SPPC Study”

Institute of High Energy Physics, CAS